Please enter your login details

You can also sign in with your Sowetan LIVE,
Times LIVE account details.
   Sign Up   Forgot password?

Sign in with:

Sat Apr 19 16:45:33 SAST 2014

Pakistan recall Kamran Akmal for T20 World Cup

TEAMtalk Media | 17 July, 2012 14:010 Comments
Kamran Akmal (C) gestures during a Pakistan nets session at the Punjab Cricket Association Stadium on March 28, 2011 in Mohali, India
Image by: Graham Crouch / Getty Images

Pakistan have included wicketkeeper-batsman Kamran Akmal in their 15-man squad for the three-match T20I series against Australia and the World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka in September.

Akmal has not played international cricket since last year's World Cup and was recently cleared by the Pakistan Cricket Board's integrity committee for his alleged involvement in 2010's spot-fixing scandal in England.

Batsman Imran Nazir and all-rounder Abdul Razzaq, who don't have central contracts, have been included in the squad for both tournaments too. Mohammad Hafeez, appointed Twenty20 captain for the recent series against Sri Lanka, will continue to lead the side.

Ahmed Shehzad, Hammad Azam, Haris Sohail, Khalid Latif and Shakeel Ansar, who were all part of the squad for the series against the Sri Lankans have been excluded from the World Twenty20 party. All five, however, have been included for the three matches against Australia.

Opening batsman Nasir Jamshed has recovered from injury and returns to the fold, while uncapped left-arm spinner Raza Hasan has kept his place for both tours.

Pakistan will play three T20Is against the Australians in the United Arab Emirates before going to the WT20 in Sri Lanka, where they are pooled with New Zealand and Bangladesh in Group D. The first game of their campaign is against the Black Caps at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium on 23 September.

Squad: Mohammad Hafeez (captain), Imran Nazir, Nasir Jamshed, Kamran Akmal (wicketkeeper), Asad Shafiq, Shoaib Malik, Abdul Razzaq, Shahid Afridi, Yasir Arafat, Umar Akmal, Saeed Ajmal, Raza Hasan, Umar Gul, Mohammad Sami, Sohail Tanvir.

To submit comments you must first

Join the discussion & Debate

Pakistan recall Kamran Akmal for T20 World Cup

For Commenters Consideration | Please stick to the subject matter
Sat Apr 19 16:45:33 SAST 2014 ::