Please enter your login details

You can also sign in with your Sowetan LIVE,
Times LIVE account details.
   Sign Up   Forgot password?

Sign in with:

Fri Apr 18 17:44:49 SAST 2014

Sascoc names star-studded Paralympics squad

Sapa | 20 June, 2012 13:380 Comments
South African runner Oscar Pistorius is launched by Oakley for their campain going into the 2012 London Olympics on April 17, 2012 in Pretoria
Image by: Sydney Seshibedi / Gallo Images / The Times

The SA Sports Confederation and Olympic Commitee on Wednesday announced the Paralympic squad for the 2012 London Games.

The star studded 62 athletes named are four less than the squad that went to the Beijing Games four years ago.

The full Team South Africa:

Athletics Tshepo Bhebe, Dyan Buis, Andrea Dalle Ave, Pieter du Preez, Charl du Toit, Arnu Fourie, Ilse Hayes, Hilton Langenhoven, Anrune Liebenberg, Michael Louwrens, Teboho Mokgalagadi, Jan Nehro (guide: Duane Fortuin), Zandile Nhlapo, Jonathan Ntutu, Oscar Pistorius, Anika Pretorius, Samkelo Radebe, Casper Schutte, Union Sekailwe, Zanele Situ, Zivan Smith, Marius Stander, Duane Strydom, Fanie van der Merwe, Chenelle van Zyl. Manager: Dion Bishop. Coaches: Suzanne Ferreira, Zelda Hansen, Hennie Koekemoer, Karin le Roux, Ampie Louw. Team Assistant: Neels Matthyser. Helper: Illse du Preez

Cycling Roxy Burns, Madre Carinus, Stuart McCreadie, Jaco Nel, Ernst van Dyk, Gerhard Viljoen. Manager: Mike Burns. Coach: Ricky Kulsen, Mechanic: Pieter Jansen

Equestrian Anthony Dawson, Philipa Johnson, Marion Milne, Wendy Moller Manager: Tracey Cumming. Coach: Chris Haazen. Vet: Sheelagh Higgerty. Grooms: Enoch Cele, Anton Chimbuanda, Elizabeth Newsome, Teri Smith

Rowing Sandra Khumalo Manager/coach: Marco Galeone

Swimming Renette Bloem, Charl Bouwer, Natalie du Toit, Emily Gray, Achmat Hassiem, Hendri Herbst, Marike Naude, Kevin Paul, Shireen Sapiro, Tadhg Slattery Manager: Queeneth Ndlovu. Coach: Karoly Toros. Coach/Tapper: Karin Hugo. Tapper/Helper: Eeden Meyer

Wheelchair basketball Justin Govender, Siphamandla Gumbi, Stuart Jellows, Kyle Louw, Luvuyo Mbande, Gift Mooketsi, Richard Nortje, Kobus Oeschger, Marius Papenfus, Marcus Retief, Jaco Velloen Manager: Willie Riechert. Coach: Patrick Fick. Assistant coach: Shadrack Moepeng. Technical coach: Franck Belen \

Wheelchair Tennis Evans Maripa, Sydwell Mathonsi, Kgothatso Montjane, Lucas Sithole. Manager/coach: Holger Losch. Assistant coach: Khotso Matshego.

General Team Management Chef de Mission: Pieter Badenhorst Project manager: Vinesh Maharaj Manager (logistics): Clifford Cobers Logistics: Madira Sehlapelo Manager (athletes services): Chantelle Jardim Athlete services: Dumisani Mtwa Chief medical officer: Wayne Derman Chief physiotherapist: Grace Hughes Doctor: Paul Maphoto Physiotherapists: Given Baloyi, Edwin Bodha, Greshne Davids, Shantal Edwards, Dan Ntseke, Evah Ramashala Classifier: Tarina van der Stockt 

To submit comments you must first

Join the discussion & Debate

Sascoc names star-studded Paralympics squad

For Commenters Consideration | Please stick to the subject matter
Fri Apr 18 17:44:49 SAST 2014 ::