Please enter your login details

You can also sign in with your Sowetan LIVE,
Times LIVE account details.
   Sign Up   Forgot password?

Sign in with:

Fri Apr 18 00:13:52 SAST 2014

Boks lose Bismarck for rest of season

TEAMtalk Media | 19 August, 2012 10:400 Comments
Bismarck du Plessis of South Africa is taken off injured during the Rugby Championship match against Argentina at Newlands on August 18, 2012 in Cape Town, South Africa
Image by: Peter Heeger / Gallo Images

Sharks hooker Craig Burden has been called into the Springbok team to travel to Argentina in the place of the injured Bismarck du Plessis.

Du Plessis injured his right knee early in the game. He was taken for scans during the game, which confirmed the diagnosis of an injury to his medial and anterior cruciate ligaments. It will require surgical correction and he will be out for the remainder of the season.

Burden was on the official standby list and will depart with the squad from Johannesburg on Sunday.

Apart from Du Plessis, the match day 22 that beat Argentina by 27-6 have been retained and five players were added to provide depth in certain crucial positions - Tiaan Liebenberg and Burden (hookers), Dean Greyling (prop), Juandré Kruger (lock) and Jano Vermaak (scrum-half).

Following the Springboks' return from Argentina, the national selectors will meet to select a touring squad of 28 that will travel to Australia and New Zealand for the third and fourth rounds of the Rugby Championship.

"We only finalised the touring squad after the Test against Argentina at Newlands on Saturday afternoon as we wanted to first assess the injury situation," said Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer.

"It's never nice to leave behind players, but we're only permitted to travel with 26 players. The players that stay behind will benefit from game time in the Absa Currie Cup and will certainly be in the selection frame when we select the squad for the next leg of The Castle Rugby Championship."

South Africa squad:

Forwards (15): Willem Alberts, Andries Bekker, Craig Burden, Pat Cilliers, Marcell Coetzee, Keegan Daniel, Jannie du Plessis, Eben Etzebeth, Dean Greyling, Juandré Kruger, Tiaan Liebenberg, Tendai Mtawarira, Jacques Potgieter, Adriaan Strauss, Flip van der Merwe.

Backs (11): Jean de Villiers (captain), JJ Engelbrecht, Bryan Habana, Francois Hougaard, Zane Kirchner, Patrick Lambie, Lwazi Mvovo, Ruan Pienaar, Frans Steyn, Morné Steyn, Jano Vermaak.

To submit comments you must first

Join the discussion & Debate

Boks lose Bismarck for rest of season

For Commenters Consideration | Please stick to the subject matter
Fri Apr 18 00:13:52 SAST 2014 ::