Please enter your login details

You can also sign in with your Sowetan LIVE,
Times LIVE account details.
   Sign Up   Forgot password?

Sign in with:

Sun Apr 20 10:53:41 SAST 2014

Pumas recall big guns for Rugby Championship

TEAMtalk Media | 09 July, 2012 12:000 Comments
Argentina IRB RWC 2011 Captain's Run
Rodrigo Roncero of Argentina in action during a captain's run at Otago Stadium on September 9, 2011 in Dunedin, New Zealand
Image by: Warren Little / Getty Images

Argentina have named most of their first-choice players in a 33-man training squad ahead of their Rugby Championship opener against South Africa on August 18.

The Pumas' European-based players, who missed the recent Tests against Italy and France, make their return but there is no place for veteran playmaker Felipe Contepomi, who led the team to two victories in June.

Coach Santiago Phelan's team are currently training in Pensacola, Florida.

The squad includes Racing Metro fly-half Juan Martin Hernandez, who missed last year's Rugby World Cup with a knee injury, and veteran prop Rodrigo Roncero, who played and the first June Test against Italy and is set to retire after the Rugby Championship.

"The Rugby Championship is going to be very tough," said Albacete.

"We are going to play against the best three teams in the world but it is the only way for us to make progress.

"To achieve a good result we are going to have to be perfect every weekend and we will see how many consecutive perfect games we can play. Hopefully we can play some great rugby, especially with the addition of Graham Henry, who is going to contribute so much to our campaign."

Argentina training squad:

Horacio Agulla (Bath, England), Patricio Albacete (Toulouse, France), Marcos Ayerza (Leicester Tigers, England), Marcelo Bosch (Biarritz, France), Martín Bustos Moyano (Montpellier, France), Maximilano Bustos (Montpellier, France), Gonzalo Camacho (Exeter Chiefs, England), Rafael Carballo (Bordeaux Begles, France), Manuel Carizza (Biarritz, France), Agustín Creevy (Montpellier, France), Tomas Cubelli (Los Pampas XV, Argentina), Tomas De La Vega (Los Pampas XV, Argentina), Julio Farías Cabello (Los Pampas XV, Argentina), Juan Fernández Lobbe (Toulon, France), Santiago Fernández (Montpellier, France), Juan Figallo (Montpellier, France), Agustín Figuerola (Brive, France), Alvaro Galindo (Racing Métro, France), Lucas González Amorosino (Montpellier, France), Eusebio Guiñazú (Biarritz, France), Juan Martín Hernández (Racing Métro, France), Juan Imhoff (Racing Métro, France), Martín Landajo (Los Pampas XV, Argentina), Juan Leguizamón (Lyon, France), Tomás Leonardi (Los Pampas XV, Argentina), Juan Pablo Orlandi (Racing Métro, France), Bruno Postiglioni (Los Pampas XV, Argentina), Martin Rodríguez (Stade Français, France), Rodrigo Roncero (Unattached), Nicolás Sánchez (Bordeaux Begles, France), Leonardo Senatore (Los Pampas XV, Argentina), Tomás Vallejos (Scarlets, Wales), Nicolás Vergallo (Toulouse, France).

To submit comments you must first

Join the discussion & Debate

Pumas recall big guns for Rugby Championship

For Commenters Consideration | Please stick to the subject matter
Sun Apr 20 10:53:42 SAST 2014 ::