Please enter your login details

You can also sign in with your Sowetan LIVE,
Times LIVE account details.
   Sign Up   Forgot password?

Sign in with:

Thu Apr 24 10:35:16 SAST 2014

Stormers shuffle their pack

CRAIG RAY | 28 June, 2012 06:330 Comments
Stormers flank Tyrone Holmes during the DHL Stormers training session and press conference from DHL Newlands on June 27, 2012 in Cape Town
Image by: Carl Fourie / Gallo Images

STORMERS coach Allister Coetzee has picked his 11th different loose forward of the Super 15 season with the inclusion of Tyrone Holmes at openside flank for Saturday's clash against the Lions at Newlands.

The tough product of Fishhoek High will have a chance to show his worth because of a horrendous injury list that includes the likes of Schalk Burger, Duane Vermeulen, Nick Koster and Nizaam Carr.

Holmes will pack down alongside Don Armand at blindside flank and Siya Kolisi at No8. Canadian import Jebb Sinclair will be on the bench. Kolisi's inclusion at eighthman means he will have played in every position in the back row this season.

By starting with Holmes and Armand Coetzee, they will be sending out the seventh different starting loose trio combination of the campaign.

"Don has been part of our whole campaign, He joined us on the overseas tour and is exactly what we want in the No 7 position because he is a big ball-carrier," Coetzee said. "He's also a good lineout option.

"Tyrone is also somebody who has a big opportunity. Siya is well suited to No8 and it's a move we needed to make because if we make the play-offs Jebb Sinclair is not eligible.

"Nick [Koster] and Schalk [Burger] are both experiencing pain in their knees so I can't put an exact date on their return, but I'm hoping they'll return to training in the week leading up to our final pool match against the Rebels."

Coetzee has chosen to rest key players such as Steven Kitshoff, who played five tough games for the Baby Boks in 16 days, and Bok wing Bryan Habana.

Stormers: 15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Gerhard van den Heever, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Siya Kolisi, 7 Don Armand, 6 Tyrone Holmes, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 De Kock Steenkamp, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Deon Fourie, 1 Deon Carstens.

Replacements: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Quinn Roux, 19 Jebb Sinclair, 20 Louis Schrueder, 21 Burton Francis, 22 Bryan Habana.

To submit comments you must first

Join the discussion & Debate

Stormers shuffle their pack

For Commenters Consideration | Please stick to the subject matter
Thu Apr 24 10:35:16 SAST 2014 ::