Please enter your login details

You can also sign in with your Sowetan LIVE,
Times LIVE account details.
   Sign Up   Forgot password?

Sign in with:

Sat Apr 19 01:19:57 SAST 2014

Draw to set the tone for Afcon finals

NICK SAID | 04 July, 2012 07:240 Comments

Image by: Laurence Griffiths / Getty Images

THE Confederation of African Football has announced the seeds for the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations draw to take place at Emperors Palace in Johannesburg tomorrow evening.

The 30 remaining teams in the qualification race have been split into two pots, each containing 15 sides, with CAF confirming the seeds for those yesterday.

Pot 1 (seeds) contains African champions Zambia, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Morocco, Mali, Tunisia, Cameroon, Angola, Nigeria, Gabon, Sudan, Algeria, Guinea, Equatorial Guinea and Burkina Faso.

They will be drawn against one of the following sides in Pot 2: Central African Republic, Senegal, Niger, Botswana, Uganda, Malawi, Mozambique, Togo, Cape Verde, Ethiopia, Liberia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Zimbabwe, Sierra Leone and Libya.

The teams were separated into the two pots based on their record over the past three Africa Cup of Nations finals.

The matches will be played over two legs, the first to take place on the weekend of September 7-9, with the second legs scheduled for the weekend of October 12-14.

The 15 teams who emerge victorious from the ties will join hosts South Africa for the 2013 finals, which run from January 19 to February 10.

To submit comments you must first

Join the discussion & Debate

Draw to set the tone for Afcon finals

For Commenters Consideration | Please stick to the subject matter
Sat Apr 19 01:19:57 SAST 2014 ::