Please enter your login details

You can also sign in with your Sowetan LIVE,
Times LIVE account details.
   Sign Up   Forgot password?

Sign in with:

Thu Apr 24 18:44:35 SAST 2014

SA legends to face Germans in honour of Madigage

Sapa | 07 November, 2012 17:350 Comments
Funeral of Thomas Madigage in Limpopo, South Africa
The coffin of Thomas Madigage sits on display at his funeral in Driekop on October 28, 2012 in Limpopo
Image by: Gallo Images / Getty Images

South Africa’s 1996 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) champions will face a German ’legends’ side in Polokwane on Saturday in a match to honour late Bafana Bafana assistant coach Thomas Madigage who died in a car crash last month.

The German squad will bring along 15 men, the SA Football Association (Safa) announced on Wednesday, including players who have won World Cup medals and others who have lifted the European Championship.

The German side ranges from Dieter Burdenski, who played in the 1978 Fifa World Cup, Jorg Heinrich, a member of the 1998 World Cup side, and Marko Rehmer who played in the 2002 global showpiece.

A large contingent of the SA squad that won the country’s only Afcon crown have confirmed their participation for the match.

The team includes Mark Fish, David Nyathi, Neil Tovey, Phil Masinga and Lucas Radebe, and they will be coached by Clive Barker, who will be assisted by Teenage Dladla.

The match will be played as a curtain-raiser to the Premiership encounter between Kaizer Chiefs and SuperSport United.

Both sides will play in their national team colours and the game will be split into two halves of 35 minutes each.


South African Legends: Goalkeepers: John Tlale, Mark Anderson. Defenders: Mark Fish, Edward Motale, David Nyathi, Neil Tovey (captain), Lucas Radebe. Midfielders: Andrew Tucker, Linda Buthelezi, Helman Mkhalele, Zane Moosa, Dumisani Ngobe. Strikers: Phil Masinga, Daniel Mudau, Fanie Madida. Coach: Clive Barker. Assistant Coach: Teenage Dladla.

German Legends: Dieter Burdenski, Olaf Marschall, Thomas Doll, Jorg Heinrich, Matthias Herget, Dieter Eilts, Marko Rehmer, Oliver Reck, Hans-Jurgen Dorner, Tobias Rau, Roy Prager, Michael Schultz, Martin Max, Gert Engels, Lars Unger. Coach: Erich Rutemoller.

To submit comments you must first

Join the discussion & Debate

SA legends to face Germans in honour of Madigage

For Commenters Consideration | Please stick to the subject matter
Thu Apr 24 18:44:35 SAST 2014 ::